On Abstinence and Indulgence

three books on a table

A last hurrah…for now.

Wherein I dabble in both…

Two things to know about me: One, I buy a lot of books. Since I started Dollar Reads back in May I’ve bought well over 100 books (all for One Dollar or less!) I’m pretty choosy about my books and I only buy books that I think I’ll enjoy reading. But even then, that leaves me buying a lot of books. And I think it’s time to take a break. Dollar Reads isn’t about buying books, it’s about having choices. So I am choosing to abstain from buying books during the month of August. That’s 31 days y’all. It’s difficult just typing it.

That brings me to number two: I read a lot of books. About a book a week. But that’s nowhere near what I’d like to be reading. In a perfect world, I’d read twice that amount. This August I’ll be setting an ambitious goal for myself in order to fully indulge my booklove. My plan is to do a ten book takedown of my (mountainous) TBR pile. Actually, reading ten books is hardly going to make a dent in the TBR pile, but it certainly seems like a great way to spend a month.

The point is to lay off the bargain hunting and book gathering and enjoy what I already have, which is an abundance of books. Truthfully, the headiness of shopping for books, especially when you never know what you’re going to find, can be a little consuming. I’m looking forward to just spending a little quality time in the pages.

Still, you can’t expect me to go cold turkey. I may have treated myself to a few farewell books, the ones pictured at the top of this post, just to take the edge off. I mean, I only went to Dollar Tree to tell all the pretty little books I’d miss them and be back for them soon. But some of them looked so sad, I brought them home with me. What can I say? I’m a soft touch.

Leave a Reply

