Bag Sale, Baby! – A Book Haul

Two brown paper bags

Wherein the books were crazy cheap…

It’s been a while since I’ve done a haul post so I thought I would share what I picked today at my first ever Bag Sale. Bag Sales are usually held on the last day of a library book sale. The library provides you with a bag (or you can bring your own) and you can buy the whole bag full of books for a set price, in my case, $5. I usually go to library sales on the first day of the sale, then spend so much I don’t bother to go back to the sale on bag day. That will be changing. Bag Sales are so incredibly awesome, I will be making a point of attending them.

At today’s sale, I filled two bags for a total of $10 spent. My goal was to have at least 15 books per bag because, at that rate, I would be paying about 33 cents per book. I ended up with 16 books in my first bag and 13 in the second, so I ended up averaging around 34 cents per book. Bear in mind that most of these are hardcovers — for 34 cents! I mean, I used to think that getting hardcovers for One Dollar was like finding a unicorn that lays golden eggs. So this books sale was pretty much Shangri-freaking-La.

So, without further ado, the books…

Divided in Death, Survivor in Death, Origin in Death, Creation in Death, Salvation in Death, Kindred in Death and, Fantasy in Death by J. D. Robb

I read my first Nora Roberts book a couple of weeks ago and I liked it more than I thought I would. I have a feeling that I’m going to become quite a fan of Ms. Robert’s work so I’m starting to collect the books in her “…In Death” series, which are written under the pen name J. D. Robb.

Next by Michael Crichton

The last book I read by Mr. Crichton was Timeline, which was published in 1999. I think I read it when it was still newish, which means it’s been about fifteen since I read one of his books. I figured it was about time I checked out another one.

Flood by Stephen Baxter

I went back on forth on this one but ultimately decided to toss it in the bag. I know the name Stephen Baxter but I’ve never read any of his work. It’s about a meteorological apocalypse which may, or may not, turn out to be my thing. We’ll see.

The Godfather by Mario Puzo

Like many, I loved the movie The Godfather and I have long wanted to read the book. I found a 1969 book club edition, which means it’s not a collectible but it’s still an early edition. That means it hasn’t been re-edited and cleaned up to make it more PC for the modern reader. I consider it a great find.

The Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe

This is another story I have been looking forward to reading because I enjoyed the movie version. So I bagged it.

The Descent by Jeff Long

This has nothing to do with the 2005 film of the same name but is similarly about dangerous, subterranean-dwelling, alternatively evolved creatures. Sounded like it could be a fun read.

two piles of books

Bag #1 – 16 books

So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane

I heard about the Young Wizards series years ago but never made any particular effort to seek out these books. Still, I was delighted to come across a copy of the first book in the series. My impression is that it kind of sounds like a cross between Percy Jackson and A Wrinkle in Time.

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

I’ve seen this book kicking around the internet and it seems to be generally well received. I know nothing about the story but I started to read the inside flap and saw the words, “The Year is 2059.” Sold!

The Ghost by Robert Harris

This story, about a ghostwriter working for a British ex-Prime Minister beleaguered by his secrets, just sounded interesting to me.

The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff

My mom read this book years ago and remember her talking about it a lot, but I don’t remember whether or not she actually liked it. But I thought I’d get it anyway.

The Great and Secret Show by Clive Barker

My sister introduced me to Clive Barker, as she is a big fan of his work. I’ve only read his book “Cabal” but have, of course, seen many movies derived from his novels. Looking forward to reading this one.

Germ by Robert Liparulo

I like stories about plagues. I don’t know why, I just do. I also like stories that throw in just enough scientific facts to totally freak you out. This book has both.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

I picked Dragon Tattoo and Played with Fire at my last library sale so now I have the complete trilogy. It’s about time I got around to reading these.

White Night by Jim Butcher

This is a Dresden Files story. I haven’t read any of them but I generally like stories about magic that are set in the contemporary world. I also know these stories are kind of dark, which appeals to me.

Pandora’s Daughter and The Perfect Witness by Iris Johansen

I’ve seen this author’s work all over the place and never picked up any of her books. Had I known her thrillers also contained paranormal elements, I would have started reading her work a lot sooner.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

This book seems vaguely familiar to me, which is what made me pick it up in the first place. It’s a fictionalized history of Vlad Tepes and a latter-day search for his tomb. This in not typically the kind of story I go for but I’m willing to give it a try for 34 cents.

two piles of books

Bag #2 – 13 books

Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Obviously, this is a well known novel but even if it wasn’t the story would interest me. Add to that the fact that I just read, and loved, Something Wicked This Way Comes and I had to get this book. I’ve been looking for it at the last couple of sales I went to and I finally found it.

Robert Ludlum’s The Bourne Betrayal by Eric van Lustbader

I read the Bourne Identity not long before the movie came out. The movie was better. (How often does one get to say that?) But I’ve been so curious about what a new author might be doing with the franchise so I went ahead and picked up this book.

Lightning by Dean Koontz

This was a cool find because, many, many years ago, I started reading this book and never finished it. Nice to be able to tie-off a bit of unfinished book business.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I’ve seen this book in stores and online and it always stood out for me because of its beautiful cover art. If I have even the slightest interest in a series, I try to pick up the first book in the series when I come across it. As a Dollar Reader, you can’t be too attached to reading series in order but it’s nice whenever you get a chance to do so.

Influx by Daniel Suarez

I was so excited when I found this book today because this is one of those books I picked up in the book store and wanted to buy, then didn’t because of the price. It’s long been one of my “one that got away” books and I was thrilled to come across a copy at a library sale.

The First Patient by Michael Palmer

I got this book for my mom. She loves conspiracy thrillers and this one involves a plot to drive The President crazy. Like, literally, make him insane.

Man, I tell ya, I can’t wait to read some of these books. I mean, I found some books that I’ve actually wanted to read for quite a while. Library sales are already pretty magical things for readers, as far as I’m concerned. But Bag Sales are like taking all that magic and sprinkling it on top of some ice cream! Get thee to a Bag Sale, I say! No, really, you should totally go.

Leave a Reply

