Dollar Reads Challenge 60-Day Review

Wherein I analyze 60 days of book buying…

I began my Dollar Reads Challenge approximately two months ago so I thought it would be a good idea to do a 60-day progress report. When I began the challenge I honestly thought it would be much harder than it has been to find books, good books, at my ridiculously low One Dollar price point. On the contrary, it’s been so easy that I maybe need to slow down on my book buying. Like, a lot. But let’s take a look at what I’ve done so far.

chart showing 60-day book buying totals

60-day totals

Breakdown by book source:

Pie chart showing where I buy books

Where I’ve Bought Books in the Past 60 Days

Dollar Tree: Clearly, The Dollar Tree is a sure thing when it comes to finding books for the magical price of One Dollar. They actually have pretty great selection. And if you’re willing to make an effort to visit a few different Dollar Tree stores, you’re generally well rewarded for your effort. Honestly, the only thing that could make buying books at the Dollar Tree better is if they sold their books online.

Library Sales: I’ll be writing more about library sales later this week but for now I’ll just say, “Socath, his eyes open.” (That’s a ST: TNG reference that’s well worth googling.) Prices vary from sale to sale but generally, hardcovers are either one or two dollars and paperbacks are fifty cents or less. I did find one sale where hardcovers were fifty cents and another sale were paperback were five for One Dollar! (I maybe stopped breathing for a sec when I heard that price.) Books are generally in fair to good condition and you’ll never know what you could find.

Goodwill Store: My local Goodwill store is pretty hit-or-miss when it comes to finding books. They don’t have a very big selection but I’ve still managed to uncover some gems so, no complaints.

Online Giveaways: I’ve won three online book raffles. One from Twitter and two from Goodreads. These books were completely free and shipped to my door. However, I’m not completely comfortable with the provisos of the Goodreads giveaways so I don’t think I’ll be doing them anymore. ymmv.

Digital Purchases: So far all of my digital downloads have come from Amazon. It’s just really convenient to buy and download books with my Kindle. It’s not easy to find the 99 cent deals on Amazon. I mean, there’s no option that lets you just search for books within a certain price range. You can sort a selection by price, but you can’t search by price. (I’m really hoping that Amazon will change that in the future.) But in the meantime, I’ve been learning about 99 cent deals on Twitter or searching for books by publisher and then sorting that list by price.

All told, I am very happy with what I’ve been able to do. I have drastically cut the cost of one of my favorite pastimes, saving myself a ton of money. And it will be quite some time before I’m ever in another book slump because, right now, I have a plethora of reading options. Hopefully, over the next few months, I’ll find even more venues for purchasing Dollar Reads.

Leave a Reply

