Image

The Dollar Read$ Challenge

Books, dollar bill, and a teacup

The Dollar Read$ Challenge.

 

Wherein I embark on a journey…

It all started innocently enough. I was at my local dollar store when something caught my eye. It was a book. (This book, actually.) The book stood out for me because it’s a book that was already on my long term To Be Read list. And the thunderbolt struck. I came to the sudden realization that I can buy books — ones I actually want to read — for a dollar. One Dollar! And I thought to myself, “Oh it is so on!”

So I have set for myself a challenge. For the next year I intend to read only books that I am able to purchase for One Dollar (or less!) And I am going to share my dollar deals right here.

There are, of course, some ground rules. (Else all would be anarchy!)

  1. Format is irrelevant. It doesn’t matter whether the book is a paperback, hardcover, or digital, so long as the price is not over One Dollar.
  2. Sales tax is not included in the limit. Technically, I will be paying a little over One Dollar, in most instances, due to sales tax. The One Dollar limit only applies to the sale price of the book.
  3. For my purposes, I won’t be purchasing self-published books. The only reason is that such books are often priced much lower than non self-published books, with many being offered for 99 cents, or even for free. Finding self-published books at my price point just wouldn’t be much of a challenge.

On occasion there may be ancillary costs incurred (e.g. the cost of a Amazon Prime membership.) I’ll be sure to disclose such costs in my posts. But otherwise, that’s it. That’s the Dollar Read$ Challenge.

This should be fun.

Leave a Reply

